Bedtime routine

Mommy hopes we’re not going to jinx things this way but hey it’s my favorite time of the day and I do sleep until 6.30 or even til 7.30am some days. Sorry, so yes I have said it and mommy thinks we might get some envious babies (and mommies) on our backs.

So here goes my daily bedtime routine:

6.30 to 7pm: mommy tells me she is going to prepare my bath and put me in my crib so I can look at my vintage farm animals mobile. Sometimes I am quiet but sometimes I will not be able to contain my excitement and cry with anticipation. I’ll stop as soon as mommy puts me down on my changing table to undress me and tells me:”ahhhh, ohhhh, bath time! Il est temps pour le petit bain!”. She will then carry my to my bath and before laying me in it she will wet my back a little so I know what’s coming. I have one of these nice little hamacs. Not in plastic but the ones in towel cloth. However mommy always will hold me passing her arm below my back and holding my arm. She wets my hair and washes it with shampoo by Mustela. Then she will wash my face with water and with a washcloth she’ll use for my face only. I love that thing! I’ll try lick it, put it in my mouth and it makes me laugh so much! Then she will wash my neck and body with Mustela Bodywash. We like Mustela products because they are paraben-free! She’ll wash my feet-ees because they are like smelly cheesies! Then she’ll turn me around, wash my back, my bumbum. Then makes sure she rinses everything off well while I check myself out in the mirror. I love checking myself out in the mirror and stick my tongue out! Then mommy wraps me in my Aden + Anais swaddle (she likes those as they are soft to pat me dry and dry better than towel).

We then make it back to my room and the changing table and it is time for my bedtime… massage!! Yes, a full body massage! Who needs to go the Soneva Gili?! Mommy uses organic sweet almond oil or organic coconut oil (depending on which one tickles my fancy schmancy). Then she puts some Weleda Baby Calendula Facial Cream all over my face and earlobes (I sometimes have a little baby eczema, hey, no one is perfect). We finish the beauty ritual with some Mustela diaper cream. I get dressed in fresh clean soft pyjamas, a little dash of Eau d’Hadrien by Annick Goutal (no N.5 by Chanel, I ain’t no Marilyn!) and last but not least, a nice warm bottle of milk (by latest 8pm)

Then mommy winds me and reads a little story. Lately it’s “The Little Prince” by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. When I am tired I’ll start crying. When I get put in my cot I start crying as well, which means I want another little walk and a little look around in our home. THEN I’ll go to sleep after another long and fun day! Zzzzzzzzzzz…

PS: mommy will wake me again at 11pm for a last bottle for the road. By that time I am usually out of it and I’ll gulp the whole thing down while dreaming of pink fluffy elephants. And that my friend is the secret to keeping me going til the morning. 

PSPS: At least has been working most night for the last 2 months, but I’ll have to admit, not every night.

This entry was posted in baby development, baby night sleep, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bedtime routine

  1. Nina says:

    Yo Tess, those Aden & Anais cloths are great, I use their washcloths to take my make up off, (and da coconut oil too, of course), so tell Mommy to get you some for the bath, they really are the dog’s :) can’t wait to meet you, lots of love, Auntie Nina xxx

    • stroid says:

      Yo Auntie Nina!! I will do! Can’t wait to burn that credit card of hers! When are you coming to meet me?? So you can take me and mommy through some of your beauty routines n tips!! Trust me, she need it baaaaad!

Leave a Reply

